The Texas Cup:



This is an annual two days Ryder Cup style competition held between the Dallas Ft. Worth Vietnamese Golf Association (DFWVGA) and Houston Vietnamese Golf Association (HVGA). This event is known as the Texas Cup and was officially established in 2003.  The event will be hosted by DFWVGA on the even ending years and by HVGA on the odd ending years during the fall. The event is intended to match the top players from each club in a fun and competitive environment.​

Match Play Formats

Possible formats for TX cup include Fourball (2-man best ball), Foursomes (2-man Alternate shot), Modified Alternate shot (both players on each team tee off, pick the preferred tee and than alternate shot after that), Singles and 2-man scramble.  

  • First Round: Can be any of the above team formats.

  • Second Round: Can be any of the above team formats.

  • Final Round: Individual Match Play consists of twelve matches for each flight.


Each match score will be calculated pursuant to USGA rule 2 which governs Match play. The winner of each match will receive 1 point. The losing side will receive 0 point. In the event the match ends in a tie, each side will receive a 1/2 point.

The winning team is determined by cumulative total points.  Under the Texas Cup rules, the defending champion team from the previous matches only needs to halve the cumulative points total (24) to retain the Cup, while the opposing team must win it outright (24-1/2 or more). 



Local and USGA Rules of Golf govern all play.


  • Entry: This event is open to only Vietnamese DFWVGA members.

  • Eligibility of individual team member: Each club shall establish the requirements, qualifications and eligibility of the team.

  • Captain: Each club shall select a captain to represent the team in the decision making process. In addition, an assistant captain may be selected